Said the Abbott to the Bishop…

English: en:Julie Bishop, Deputy Leader of the...

Julie Bishop, Deputy LOTO (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Opposition Leader Tony Abbott address...

LOTO Tony Abbott (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Said the Abbott to the Bishop…

With the last few weeks of intensive political discourse, I thought it was time for a little bit of light relief through my favourite medium of poetry   😀

Abbott lovers and right wing nut jobs, look away NOW!     😀

Said The Abbott to the Bishop

 

Said the Abbott to the Bishop

There is work for you to do

For to beat that Labor red head

And extract me from the poo

I need a woman’s finer touch

For credibility

For when I try to beat her up

I’m accused of misogyny

😯

And they say you’ve been a lawyer

So you’d have to have some smarts

Which could prove a great advantage

In explaining my brain farts

And women fighting women

Is a great spectator sport

In a bathtub full of jelly

Oops, cancel that last thought

😳

An attack dog in designer clothes

Is what we Liberals need

To distract the voters from the truth

And our ambitious greed

And you can show that women love me

Cos I’m such a super bloke

And discredit all those rumours

Of me being, just a joke

🙄

Said the Abbott to the Poodle

What I need for you to do

Is to spit your dummies daily

And to shovel cattle poo

To rant and rave incessantly

And to your hearts content

To disrupt, and show dysfunction

In this Labor government

😉

Said the Abbott to the Turd Ball

It’s the NBN, that is your lot

And to prove that ours is better

Is the job that you have got

Showing fibre to the premises

Is not the way to go

Sticking nodes on each street corner

Is much cheaper, as you know

🙄

Even though it is much slower

And the copper’s getting old

And for faster speeds, the regions

Will be left out in the cold

And the poorest, they don’t matter

Cos they don’t deserve the best

That’s reserved for us, the wealthy

Why should we support the rest

😯

Said the Abbott to the Sloppy Joe

The story you must tell

Is the economy is failing

And the county’s gone to hell

That we’re drowning in a massive debt

Destroying our economy

But you’ll have to do much better

Than the number “Eleventy”

🙄

Said the Mogul to the Abbott

I’ll support your party line

With the depth of my resources

But remember, your arse is mine

So do just as I will tell you

And your win, I’ll guarantee

And you will be the PM

But Australia belongs to ME

👿

Said the Abbott to the media mogul

For support I’ll gladly pay

With the NBN and ABC

Cos I’m your man all the way

And the fact is, that Prime Minister

I’m destined to become

And I’ll do whatever the hell it takes

Cos it was foretold by me mum

😆

Said the voters to the Abbott

You are taking us for fools

Selling out to media moguls

With your band of right wing tools

You’ve lied and cheated and misled

And PM you’ll not become

Instead we’ll  hand a flogging to you

And the one… that owns… your bum

😀

Joker

Tony”The Joker” Abbott  (Photo credit: National Museum of Australia)

 

About Truth Seeker

Musician singer/songwriter, guitar teacher. https://truthseekersmusings.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Political Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Said the Abbott to the Bishop…

  1. I’ve yet to read a better, clearer description of the abbott, his pals and his backers. I will put this down as being one of your very best Truth Seeker.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Janice, Thanks for your comment 😀 and kind words 😳

      With all the serious stuff going on, it’s good to return to your roots every now and then 😀

      I appreciate your support and encouragement 😎

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  2. ridgiesrule says:

    Absolutely brilliant Truth Seeker. Will post it to Twitter and Facebook.

    Like

  3. Joy Cooper says:

    Very well done, Truth Seeker.. It is a fantastic piece of poetic wit, love it. 😆 While it is a wonderful example of satirical poetry it, most certainly, is also based on the Real McCoy.

    Will tweet it also. 🙂

    Like

  4. martha says:

    I think this would be great campaign material

    we could have a verse a night on tv/

    love it

    Like

  5. martha says:

    truth seeker

    will u be posting this on pb

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Martha, I used to post my poems as comments on a few sites, but I found that posting links is a better way of getting them out there, as many people tend to scroll over longer comments. 😦

      I have had some of my readers post links on pb, but I have not posted any there myself.

      I have also had a couple of my posts cross posted and linked, but that’s about it.

      Thanks again for your interest 😎

      And if you would like to post a link, I would greatly appreciate it 😀

      Cheers 😀 😎

      Like

  6. 2gravel says:

    Truth Seeker
    Sigh! I’m with Janice all the way, it is one of your better efforts, maybe the break did you good.

    Like

  7. Fiona says:

    Stellar work, Truth Seeker – love it!

    Like

  8. cornlegend says:

    What can I say.
    As with every other, you’ve nailed it perfectly.
    I’ll be posting links everywhere.
    People need to read it,
    you are a very talented bloke Truthy

    Like

  9. crowey says:

    Your wit and poems brightens up my day.

    Like

  10. Tinfoilhatter says:

    “Said the voters to the Abbott…..” ROFLMFAO!!! Wiping the tears from my eyes.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Tinfoilhatter, 😀 I started it last night, and finished it over breakfast, and it is comments like yours and the many others, that make it all worth while 😀

      Glad you like it 😀 😆

      Cheers 😀 😎

      Like

  11. patriciawa says:

    Well done, TS! Your wit and words become ever sharper. I share your dilemma over links or full text. Sometimes a short pome works well as a comment though. Depends on the context. Now who said that?

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Patricia, thanks for your kind words, it always means a lot coming from a fellow poet 😎

      Yes, i had an interesting response at TPS, where I posted a poem, and then Lyn put up a link to my site for the same poem, and I got a heap more responses from the link, than I did from the poem 😉 Odd?

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  12. Hefina says:

    Ditto to everyone else’s comment written here truth Seeker, Good one, hope Abbott and Bishop reads them too. My father was a good Welsh poet before he past away at the age of 50. after working in harsh conditions in the slate quarries in Llanberis North Wales ,this is what inspired them to write poems like you do, but it never rubbed on me. wish it had at times like these. Your messages gets out in a good way. just hope the people of Western Sydney has access to your work and not listen to Alan Jones’s rantings. Have you thought of reciting them on radio? maybe you already do .just a thought. cheers , keep them coming .

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Hefina, thank you so much for your comment and kind words 😀

      Yes, satirical poetry can certainly hit the spot, and Abbott and the LNP are the gift that keeps on giving for people like Patriciawa and myself. 😀

      I have to say though, if it is in your blood, as with your sadly departed father, you should give it a go, as it is a wonderful mind exercise, and can be lots of fun. 😀 It’s all about timing and syllables, and choosing the right words for the rhymes. start with just a verse or two, and build from there. 😀

      I have thought about recording them, as I do have a studio, but sadly there are not enough hours in a day at the moment, but I will keep it in mind 😀

      Thanks for your interest 😎

      Cheers 😀 😎

      Like

      • silkworm says:

        Yes, record them! Read them out loud, or get a friend with a good speaking voice to read them, and put them on youtube. That will multiply their effect a hundredfold.

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Silkworm, welcome to my site, 😀 and thanks for your comment 😎

          Someone told me that youtube works best with video, not just sound, as people want to see something as well.

          If I get some free time I might try to put a slide show together, as the recording wouldn’t be a problem. 😀

          Cheers 😀 😎

          Like

  13. Truth Seeker, yet another masterpiece from your pen, or should I say, keyboard. If only, the last verse becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy the day after the election. Nothing would please me more than to see Abbott be propped up by his wife and daughters as he, with trembling lips, tells his hateful LNP supporters that he has conceded to Gillard. Then to watch the various polllsters and MSM/ABC political commentators squirm and grimace as they eat crow. And, for Murdoch to hightail it out of here back to hole he crawled out of. I dream, Truth Seeker, I dream.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Ronald, thanks for your comment 😀 and generous appraisal 😎

      That was my hope and dream too when I wrote it 😆 and that’s what I and many others like your good self are working towards 😀

      Cheers 😀 😎

      Like

  14. Lindy says:

    TS ,please print out flyers ,and distributes to university union and station.
    The radio ,msn and AbC won’t let you broadcast these sansational peom.

    Like

  15. Truth Seeker says:

    Lindy, welcome, and thanks for your comment 😀 and your interest in spreading the word 😎

    I’ll have a think about your suggestion, but in the mean time maybe links on the relevant websites would be the go 😀

    Cheers 😀

    Like

  16. paul says:

    Well done, Bravo

    Like

  17. kate ahearne says:

    Love your work. You sure gave our official Poet Laureate, Gina, quite a run for her monay – actually, if I really had to choose…

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Kate, welcome to my site 😀 and thanks for your comment and kind words 😎

      Hope the new computer is working out well, and you are getting on top of everything 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  18. silkworm says:

    When I read this, in my mind I was putting it to the rhythm of “The Man From Snowy River.”

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Tony, welcome to my site, 😀 and thanks for your comment 😎

      A man of few words, but both of them well received 😀 😎

      Thanks for your feedback Tony I do appreciate it, and I hope to hear from you again 😎

      Cheers 😀 😎

      Like

  19. Susan in Regional NSW says:

    great fun. thank you

    Like

  20. Dion Kennedy says:

    Oops, cancel that last thought – my favourite line. :).Unfortunately for Abbott,he doesn’t have that realisation until after he has voiced his thought

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Dion, welcome 😀 and thanks for your comment 😀

      That is the line that always give me a chuckle too, although you’re right, he wouldn’t think about it for probably five minutes afterwards, but in satire, a touch of poetic licence (pardon the pun 😀 ) is allowed. 😆

      I’m glad that someone else appreciates that line as much as me 😎 😆

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  21. Love this. It gave me my first belly laugh of the week. 🙂

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      vivianneherschheaney, welcome to my site, 😀 and thanks for your comment 😀

      It’s good to know that you have given someone a good laugh, so thank you again, for your feedback. 😎 😆

      Cheers 😀 😆 😎

      Like

  22. cornlegend says:

    thought this little one on Turnbull and Abbotts Fraudband would appeal
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-04-11/clarke-and-dawe-a-very-smooth-presentation/4622942

    Like

  23. cornlegend says:

    Just on that.
    I have adsl2, my daughter bless her little sox, NBN ftth.
    We both like a certain tv series, 8 episodes.
    From the same site, about equal seeders, she downloaded the series and burnt it to disk, mine just completed 1 episode. in roughly the same time {not that I support piracy} he he

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornlegend, yes I downloaded a file 1.6 Gb a couple of nights ago, took 3 hours, yet the last time I did the same, took about 1 1/2 hours, good old copper, and rainy weather 😦

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  24. Heather says:

    Pure genius!

    Like

  25. jane says:

    TS, another top pome. Still chortling.

    Keep sticking it to them.

    Like

  26. bob macalba says:

    Brilliant TS one of your best, been busy but still reading all your stuff, cheers

    Like

  27. cornlegend says:

    I just signed the petition “Tony Abbott, Leader of the Opposition: Clarify which of the IPA’s 75 policies the Coalition plans to implement.” on Change.org.

    It’s important. Will you sign it too? Here’s the link:

    http://www.change.org/petitions/tony-abbott-leader-of-the-opposition-clarify-which-of-the-ipa-s-75-policies-the-coalition-plans-to-implement

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornlegend, signed it a couple of hours ago, 😀

      Thanks for posting the link, I would also encourage everyone to sign, as we need to know what the party’s stand for, and how much influence the IPA have over the wing nut.
      👿

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  28. Joy Cooper says:

    Have signed it cornlegend & tweeted it. 🙂

    This is scarily important for the freedom of our country. We should not be having a bunch of unelected faceless men (& yes they are mostly men) running our country. It seems to have been well known that Tony Abbott is not a leader but a follower & these people would see him as the ideal willing puppet. Probably why he is still LOTO.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Joy, you are absolutely right 😎

      They are not good people, they are a blight on our society. 👿

      Cheers 😀

      Like

      • Joy Cooper says:

        They certainly are especially when you know how much influence they have within the conservative side of politics as well as the media. :scared:

        There is nothing Public about their Affairs. It is almost like a secret society with tentacles everywhere.

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Joy, the Institute for Pathetic Arseholes or Institute for plonkers Anonymous, or Insipid Plonkers Alliance… 😀

          The possibilities are endless 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

          • Joy Cooper says:

            Love them all, TS. 😆 They all very pertinent & suit this insidious cult to a T. 😉 My brain is too tired to think of any right now, unfortunately. Well, nothing as good as yours. . 🙂

            Like

  29. Truth Seeker says:

    joy, sleep on it and come back with some classics tomorrow 😀 :I’m sure you can do a few beauties 😀

    I’m hoping to do a post on the IPA over the next few days 😀

    Cheers 😀

    Like

  30. Joy Cooper says:

    Good TS will be looking forward to reading it. 🙂

    In the meantime:- Impotent Pitiful Anti-progressives (The A is the hard one. it’s hard to get past Arseholes. :lol:) or Iniquitous Perfidious Affiliation,

    My brain is starting hurt trying to think up the nasties they warrant. 😆

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Joy 😀 You’ve done well 😆
      You can, of course use “Arseholes” with other prefixes 😀

      My new post is called “Abbott and the IPA (Idiotic Policy Advisors) 😀

      Should be up tonight or tomorrow all being well 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  31. Joy Cooper says:

    Sounds good, TS. 🙂

    Idiotic Policy Advisors suits them to a T. 😆

    Like

  32. Pingback: The Pollsters and the Pollies: Polling for Political and Pecuniary Profit – With Particular Reference to Newspoll | Fair Media Alliance

  33. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

    Like

  34. Some genuinely howling work on behalf of the owner of this site, absolutely great content material.

    Like

  35. Pingback: Said the Abbott to the Bishop, take 2! | Truth Seekers Musings

  36. Pingback: Chrissy Pyne, I was outraged by your outrage! | Truth Seekers Musings

Leave a Comment or Reply

