It’s about balance, fairness and our future!

It’s about balance, fairness and our future!

English: Christine Milne. Greens Federal Elect...

Christine Milne. Greens Leader (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Kevin Rudd, 26th Prime Minister of Au...

Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This post started out as a comment to Diannaart, who is a valued contributor, and has commented here many times previously.   She posed a bit of a dilemma for me, when she replied to a comment I made on another site.

Her comment said:

@Truthseeker

I appreciate your reply to me, but still wish that you could apply your scathing analysis to Labor as much as you have done to the Greens.

The thing is that I am very passionate about Australia and our future, and yes, I could be scathing of the ALP as I have of the greens and, for that matter, much more so the LNP.

The question is, what purpose would that serve?

Balance?

Fairness?

I am a political realist, and I don’t believe that we as Australians have the luxury of chasing ideologies at this election either from the far left, or the far right.

Now I have voiced my anger on many sites, as well as my own, at what happened with Rudd, and then with Gillard, and the factionalism and whiteanting that went on.

I also have some reservations about the ALP and some of their policies, but as a political realist, my main aim is to do all that I can to make sure that Abbott does not win this upcoming election, as I love this country and refuse to capitulate to the rabid right, and hand our futures over to them without a fight.

The facts are that we will either have an ALP, or an LNP government, whether in majority or minority, and no amount of wishful thinking or ideological flag waving will change that.

So the dilemma is, do I, as someone who genuinely cares about this country, our future and our kids and grand kids futures and an ALP supporter, highlight the flaws in what I see as the only viable option for this country’s future, to its detriment, or do I do all that I can to make sure that people understand that the options are limited and that this is probably the most important election in my lifetime?

And so I choose the latter.

Now the political reality is that no matter how much their followers might wish it were so, the greens will not be able to form government, and if they think that they will be able to keep Abbott in check, by dealing with him, or controlling the senate, they are fooling themselves, as he has already flagged the possibility of a double dissolution, if he can’t get his way.

With a Costello style audit, and the horrendous cost of an election followed by a DD it would, IMHO, almost guarantee a recession, even if they eventually lost.

Are the ALP perfect?   Far from it.

Are they the best option available for our future?   I believe so.

Are the greens putting this country’s future at risk by playing their political games?    IMHO yes.

I do not say these things to get people off side, or to try and bully people into voting for something they don’t believe in, any more than I would vote for something I don’t believe in.

I wrote a post a while ago called “Politics is a dirty game”, and the truth is that all parties play that dirty game because the stakes are very high.  They are high for the individuals and the parties, but most importantly for our country, our democracy and our futures.

The ramifications of an LNP victory are far reaching, and they have taken every opportunity to come forth with copious amounts scathing analysis of the ALP, supported and encouraged by a clearly biased MSM, and much of it based on lies, spin and misinformation.

Has it been balanced?…. Not at all!

Has it been fair?… rarely, if ever!

Have they applied the same level of scathing assessment to themselves?… NO!

Have the greens put forth their own scathing analysis of the ALP?… Absolutely!

Have they been balanced?… Not at all!

Has it been fair?… well some would say yes, but I and many others would say NO!

Have the greens applied the same level of scathing assessment to themselves?… Absolutely not!

Have I been balanced in my assessment of the greens?… Maybe not, but I have tried to address the imbalance of reporting and commentary!

Has my assessment of the greens been fair?… Well obviously some think not, but I believe that it has been both fair and justified!

So, should I be expected to, as a supporter of the ALP, which I have made no bones about, be scathing in my assessment of the party that I support, when there is little to no balance from any other quarter?… I don’t think so.

I would not, however tell anyone who they should or should not vote for, but I would urge them to consider what life will be like for them and their ideologies under the rabid right, and if our future is worth the risk?

For me that risk is definitely not worth taking, and so I will vote for and support the best option that I can find.

The reality for me is that no party has all the answers, and in a perfect world, we would not even need to make these decisions, as there would be no poverty, no conflicts that people have to flee from, no reason for people to risk their lives on leaky fishing boats, to find a safe haven, but this world is far from perfect, and we can bury our heads in the sand, and dream of utopia and what should be, or we can face reality and work together to make a difference to what is.

I have made no secret of the fact that I have no respect for the current leadership of either the greens or the LNP, but that’s not what this post is about.

It’s about balance, fairness and our future.

abbott1

About Truth Seeker

Musician singer/songwriter, guitar teacher. https://truthseekersmusings.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Political Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to It’s about balance, fairness and our future!

  1. joy cooper says:

    Superb analysis, TS & one straight from the heart. I could almost hear you actually saying it. This little black duck agrees with you a 100%. 🙂

    The Greens are all black & white idealistic ideology without any shades of grey allowed. With their current leadership it has become their way or nothing. Someone in Twitter said Christine Milne was a very nice, warm-hearted person but, if she is, the general public aren’t shown this side of her nature. All we see is a grim-faced, joyless governess telling us to eat up all of our Brussels sprouts or else. Now that they have shown their willingness to snuggle up to the Liberals, & malign the ALP, it would seem Milne has learnt nothing from such previous folly during her days as a Tasmanian state Greens leader & parliamentarian. I have been wary of the Greens ever since a few elections ago (not sure if it was state or Fed) they preferenced the Libs before ALP. Remember thinking then, how could they do that & that they were no longer trustworthy.

    My problem will be is how close to the bottom will I put the Greens. With the senate ballot do I place them before or after PUP, Rise Up Aust, One Nation & Katter’s Mad Hatter Party?? DLP will go last, of course, With Libs & Nats just above Such a dilemma. There seems to be much competition for the bottom places. So much whey & not enough cream. There does seem to be daylight between the ALP & the rest.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Joy, thanks for your comment 😎 and kind words. 😀

      Yes it is a problem that they have with their leadership, and I don’t see it going away. 😦

      We do need variety in our political choices, but there is little or no balance when playing this dirty game, and I think it is better to look to the issues with a modicum of reality and pragmatism.

      Thanks for your support 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  2. mark delmege says:

    unfortunately Kevin Rudd has become an international embarrassment.

    Like

    • joy cooper says:

      How?? Tony Abbott & Joe Hockey are the international embarrassment. Just read any OS media.

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Joy, you took the words right out of my mouth 😀

        And “IF” Rudd is an embarrassment, Abbott et al have at least 6 years head start on him 😯

        Cheers 😀

        Like

    • cornlegend says:

      Kevin Rudd struts the world stage pretty effectively.
      He has been acknowledged, by others in world media for his leadership re GFC, his interaction with China etc.
      Now the other lot, thats a different matter.
      They blatantly lied about Indonesia, PNG ,which was pointed out to them, by those countries respective leaders.
      Rudd potrays Australia well on the world stage.
      The other lot, manage to embarrass us,without leaving home !!!
      Abbott,Bishop, Hockey, Morrison in the last week have made stuff ups, re Indonesia, PNG, China .
      AAh well, AAh,

      Like

  3. mark delmege says:

    I guess you either see it or you don’t.

    Like

  4. cornlegend says:

    Truthy,
    what a bloody good article.
    I rate this as your best, so far.
    From my point of view, it was spot on, in all regards.
    I too have my issues, with some ALP policy, and believe me, my local members, and those surrounding my area bloody know it.
    I too , may be idealistic, but I look to what is best for my country, my family, their future , and which party is willing to address the issues of those in need in our country.
    For the life of me, I can’t think of a policy the other mob have ever introduced that took care of those in need in our society.
    All the important initiatives have been Labor reforms.
    Medicare, Pensions, NDIS, Gonski, Social Security, Unemployment benefits, paid parental leave childcare etc.
    I have voted Green in the Senate, but thee ideology became greater than the reality
    I am solid Labor.
    If another Party had decent solutions, i would acknowledge them
    I have written to both Windsor and Oakeshott, thanking them for their contributions in progressing our Nation.
    I don’t mind admitting Labors failures {IMHO].
    The cut to single parents was one.
    But, I will always support a Party who looks after the interests of those in need, the working class, and the country over those with a self interest, self serving , sold out bunch of policy disasters {LNP} or pipedreams.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, thanks mate 😀 It was something I felt needed to be said 😀

      I hope you are taking it easy mate, and not putting extra strain on the staples, or the blood pressure 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  5. cornlegend says:

    Truthy,
    not pissing in your pocket mate, but
    I have always enjoyed your articles.
    There must be something in the sunshine coast air, because in your last 3 or 4 articles, you have really nailed them.
    Bloody brilliant stuff.
    spot on, informative, well reasoned etc etc
    Keeps this old fool ready for the fight

    Like

  6. Fed up says:

    ABC 24 has just shown some shots of previous PM. Yes, many made one want to run and hide. One that stood out, was all the way with LBJ and run them over. …

    Yes, we have many PM’s that did not make one proud. Gillard was not one of them.

    Like

  7. Russputin2 says:

    Truthy,
    Ditto to everything you said, totally agree.
    To Mark, you really need to get out more often mate.
    Rudd works better than a laxette on me with his high school prefect lecturing technique, but thats only the window dressing.
    He is still delivering the goods for all Australians, not just the expatriate one.

    Have to say though, I was a total respecter of Julia Gillard and hold her in even higher regard due to her graceful and gallant behaviour surrounding the changeover.
    A far more gallant performance than any of the men.

    Question for Truthy, can you post the “Man in the Arena ” speech here in honour of Julia G
    ,I think it aptly describes her performance.
    Cheers All

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Russ, thanks for that mate 😀 I appreciate your support 😎

      Have to agree, Julia had the goods in spades 😀

      Mate, I’m not familiar with the speech that you are referring to, but if you can find a link, i’ll see what I can do 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  8. Russputin2 says:

    Truthy, I am not techy enough to do the link thing, but if you just Google “Man in the Arena Speech” it should pop up.
    It was by Theodore Roosevelt from memory. I shall ask my long suffering wife to do a link for me if you cant find it.
    Cheers Mate

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Russ, found the speech, and the whole thing may be a bit long, but I think there is a relevant section that I may be able to use. 😀
      Thanks for the suggestion 😎 and leave it with me and I’ll see what I can come up with 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  9. Russputin2 says:

    Truthy, its the extract I was referring to. The bit that starts with, Its not the critic that counts.
    The whole speech would consume the whole internet mate.
    By the way, Cornie slipped in while you were out and grabbed a couple of coldies, he said he left a note. cheers

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Russ, yes that’s the bit 😎

      an excellent piece 😀 very appropriate.

      Tell cornie to take it easy on those coldies 😀 He doesn’t want it leaking out through the staples 😯 a waste of good beer 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  10. Boxlid says:

    Oh the woe when your in an electorate where your vote will not count as I am.Even voting Labour straight ticket is not going to get the Labour candidate elected.Too many rusted on LNP voters.
    Gnashing of teeth and much frustrations

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Boxlid, welcome 😀 and thanks for your comment 😎

      Mate I feel your pain, as I live in Fisher, which is just the same, but the ALP candidate is a good man, so here’s hoping! 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

      • Sandra says:

        Hi Truthie, I reckon there are quite a few LNP folks who just might be changing their vote in those areas like yours. People don’t like TA nor his (no) policies. Maybe you can get the ALP candidate in your area over the line after all. Miracles can happen you know :-))

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Hi Sandra, 😀 thanks for your comment 😎

          Well if the LNP do get up here again, our local member will be that perennial bastard Mal Brough, 😯 so I am certainly keeping my fingers crossed 😀

          The problem is though that there are a lot of wealthy self funded retirees, who live on the Sunshine Coast, and I think the sea air has corroded their brains, or maybe the area just has a very high proportion of early onset dementia? 🙄

          Either way it’s going to be a tough battle, but there is the Newman factor, as well as the Rudd factor and the Abbott… thingy, although he does seem to be popular with the blue rinse set, as he is always surrounded by rabid geriatrics at his door stops of late? 😦

          But as you say Miracles can happen 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

  11. cornlegend says:

    Kevin Rudd‏@KRuddMP18m
    Just left Government House. It’s time for Australians to decide. A positive plan for Australia’s future or old negative politics. KRudd

    Kevin Rudd‏@KRuddMP9m
    Just some final touches to my speech about the choice Australians will make on September 7. KRudd

    Like

  12. cornlegend says:

    Boxlid
    I’m in the opposite position.
    Strong Labor seat, need to send some of our votes to your seat

    Like

  13. cornlegend says:

    Rudd opens with a bloody good salvo.
    Took it to the journo’s
    Away we go !!

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      I only saw the speech, as I had to go help with cooking the tea, 😦 but I’m glad he gave it to them 😀

      Whatever else you might say about Rudd, he’s a bloody good campaigner. 😀

      thanks for the updates mate 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  14. bundysmum says:

    Thank you for this fantastic article, and your timing couldn’t have been better Truthie. We all need to pull together now and work hard to see Labor elected.To all who can,please donate 5 bucks to the campaign or volunteer to help out. I’ve just done both.

    The prospect of an abort govt. is truly terrifying. Our grandkids will be the biggest losers.We must defeat abort to continue the good work started by Julia on global warming,education,NDIS and NBN.

    Like

  15. cornlegend says:

    bundysmum
    geez,
    I’m glad I’m on your side, with that fighting spirit

    Like

  16. cornlegend says:

    Kevins just sent out emails.
    they conclude with
    “It’s time to rally the troops.

    Kevin
    PS – I mean what I say: we can win this if we work together. Now’s the time to step up”

    Lets get steppin’ 🙂

    Like

  17. Gregory T says:

    TS. I can appreciate your sentiments regarding all political persuasions. In the case of the Greens, Milne, at least stands up and says what she feels. I don’t however see or hear anything coming from the Labor party to refute any of the many lies and misrepresentations emanating from the LNP, or even from the Greens for that matter. How are we to know and judge a party that stays silent and refuses to respond to even to most ludicrous, banal and offensive claims by a recalcitrant opposition. I know you feel that it has become a black or white situation, but believe me the majority of the electorate live in that vast gray area the separates the two and until white can define white, black will continue to mask and shade the truth. I hope for the sake of the country, Labor turns on the light that has been off for so long.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Gregory, thanks for your comment 😎

      I too have been very frustrated about the apparent lack of fight, although it seems to be picking up some pace of late, and I get the feeling that now that it’s game on, we will see some fire in their bellies. 😀

      What ever else people think of Rudd, he’s a very good campaigner, and any debates will certainly sort out the men from the boys.

      The next few weeks will be very interesting, and they have to step up, as it’s our future that’s at stake. 😯

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  18. jock says:

    Truthie, I agree totally your sentiments. Rudd accepted an invitation from fox for a debate tonight (monday) rabbott avoided answering when asked. Don’t know if it is going ahead, I don’t have fox. It will be interesting if there is resolution for Thompson, Slipper, Ettridge, ashby and brough before the 7th.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Morning Jock, yes “Gutless” sums Abbott up pretty well 😯

      As I suggested in an earlier post “Crystal balls and a glass jaw!” 😦

      I don’t have Fox either, but Murdoch does 😯

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  19. diannaart says:

    Would be most remiss of me not to comment when I have been totally outed as the catalyst.

    🙂

    First off.

    Thank you Truthie, I was hoping for a more nuanced view of Labor, however, you did not disappoint with neatly remaining on message with the zeitgeist of those desperate (and rightly so) of preventing a Liberal election win.

    I understand the angst when the Greens have preferenced the Liberals – on one occasion, for the most part the Greens have left the issue of second preference to the individual. However, why is this perceived as a betrayal? To Labor? The Greens are not an appendage of the Labor party. Did I agree with this action? No, I didn’t. However, it would take a lot more than some bi-partisanship on behalf of the Greens to write them off completely.

    Christine Milne does not have the mellifluous tones of Bob Browne. So what? She remains true to her party’s ideology, which compared to Labor’s commitment to fairness remains a great deal cleaner than kowtowing to the basest bottom dwellers with regard to the PNG solution.

    For myself (and I can only speak for myself) the deal breakers remain; Rudd and the manner of his reinstatement, the PNG plan and the fact that yet again climate change will remain below the radar so far as Labor or the Libs are concerned.

    BTW – none of my comments are intended as personal abuse, I do hope that you can understand that I too, write from the heart.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Diannaart, thanks for your comment 😎 and I hope you are feeling better. 😀

      As I said in my reply to you it’s not about always agreeing, but rather about the conversation and the exchange of ideas 😀

      Having said that, I listened to Milne again today, and when asked how the greens would stop the boats / drownings, her reply was that by increasing the intake to 30,000 they would ensure a safer way to get here, that would stop the boats.

      Now I am sorry but that kind of denial just makes me shake my head in anger and frustration, as they claim to be compassionate, but are quite prepared to allow men, women and children to continue drowning rather than address the real issues.

      There is no way known that even if we doubled our current intake, the boats would stop, without an effective deterrent for the people smugglers, and common sense would attest to that fact.

      Now I’m not saying that the PNG plan is ideal, by a long shot, but I would rather see it work in the short term to stop the drownings, and give us time to develop a longer term regional strategy that will be more user friendly, and then by all means increase the humanitarian intake to 50,000 if necessary.

      Their policy has that warm and fuzzy feel, but not a snowballs chance in hell of stoping the boats or the drownings.

      And honestly, if I seriously thought there was even half a chance of it working, I would happily support it, as my priority is to stop the drownings, but sadly it won’t.

      And on this issue, I really believe that their policy is more about appealing to the needs of their supporters to feel good about themselves, than any serious attempt to deal with the problem, as they know that they will never get the chance to implement their policy.

      Now I’m not saying this to be controversial, or super critical to the greens, but because after careful consideration of the situation, that is the only conclusion that I can come to, as there is no other one that makes any sense.

      I saw Milne’s responses today, as misleading, and dishonest, and nothing she said has in any way softened my position.

      Diannaart I do understand your feelings WRT the greens, and I would have liked for us to be able to find some common ground on this issue, but I think that this is one area where we might just have to agree to disagree. 😀

      I do also hope that you continue to comment here, as I enjoy and appreciate your input 😎

      Cheers 😀

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        BTW, I think that the greens referencing the LNP is a not good look considering the LNP are diametrically opposed to the fundamentals of greens ideology.

        As far as AGW is concerned, I am an extremely strong believer, and have been for years. I believe that if the greens had supported the original ETS that was proposed, the carbon price would not have become an issue, and it could have been improved over time, rather than voting for doing nothing at all, which just wasted the intervening years.

        And my issue with Milne has nothing to do with her voice, and everything to do with her message.

        Sorry for the PS, but I got sidetracked by the PNG issue, and forgot about the other points you raised 😀

        Thanks again for your reply 😀

        Cheers 😀

        Like

      • diannaart says:

        I don’t believe that wanting to increase the refugee intake will stop the boats, nor does desiring this objective make Ms Milne a liar, because following on from that, I do not believe the PNG Plan will “stop the boats” either. However, I do know that the refugees will be treated far more humanely under the Green’s proposal.

        The boats will continue as long as there are blighted countries where the general population is being treated like meat. Hence, my call to all OECD countries to start actually aiding instead of invading. Of course the issue of trust is now a difficult hurdle to jump as most OECD nations have done little more than exploit situations, such as only ‘aiding’ countries which have valuable resources.

        I repeat that the Greens are not an appendage of Labor (or the Liberals) they will act independently to remain on principle. This means disappointing some Labor supporters. The original ETS devised by Rudd did not meet with the Greens expectations, therefore it was not supported, BTW this was prior to Bob Browne’s retirement, calling Milne a liar as a result of this is simply wrong.

        While I am most loathe to do so, I will be considering voting Labor for the lower house – unless the local Greens or independents really impress.

        I appreciate the opportunity given me to place my opinions here – which, as you say, we will have to agree to disagree on.

        As for my health – still really crappy, no point in pretending otherwise. However forcing myself to think through the reasons I have for my views is a very good thing, therefore, I thank you.

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Diannaart, I do believe that the PNG solution will stop the boats, if it is given a fair go, as I believe the Malaysian solution would have also.

          Only time will tell, but if the boats do stop, then it will show that PNG is a more humane solution than the greens alternative, and also show that the deaths so far could have been avoided which is my firm belief.

          Good government is about compromise to achieve the best available outcome, not standing on principle to achieve nothing. 10% of something is better than 100% of nothing.

          I know that it was Bob Brown that rejected the original ETS, and that’s when I really started to question the greens ideologies, and their intractable stand.

          I think that voting ALP in the lower house is a good compromise, to keep Abbott out, and you are always welcome to voice your opinions here 😀

          I hope you are feeling better soon, and look forward to more comments 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

  20. Jock says:

    Truthie, it puzzles and amazes me how people deny the obvious. The boats are a political problem. howard saw an opportunity to gain votes by demonising people coming by boats and Truthie, I am puzzled and amazed that poeple can’t see the boats are a political problem. howard saw an opportunity for votes and created a fear campaign. rabbott continued sanctimoniously and hypocrically to turn it into a safety issue of all these poor people drowning at sea. Rudd and Gilliard realised that the political question has to be neutralised to keep government. But at the same time have increased the intake from the camps. The greens refuse to acknowledge these facts. rabbott will not give them what they want. (even less than labour he has said he will decrease the current intake). On a slighlty different take on the subject, everyone ignores the fact that humans are great risk takers. Look at the idiots for example that climb Mount Everest (insert idiodacy of your choice ie walking to the North Pole, taking part in a pollie pedal etc) so anyone cornered by war, poverty or just the thought of something better, will take a risk. Often anything is better than nothing. The problem the greens have is that their circumstance is not desperate enough. They can’t see that by taking a risk and supporting Labour they might actually be able to improve everyones lot in life. They sure as hell will never acheive power in their own right the the liberals never give them anything. WW

    W

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Morning Jock 😀 and thanks for your comment 😎

      Yes that’s right, and the truth is that because the greens won’t have to actually try to implement any policies, they can go for the feel good factor instead of what might work.

      Sadly they are completely ignoring the facts that people will continue to risk the boat trip, unless they have nothing to gain by it, like their final destination being PNG or Malaysia.

      Then you can stop the boats and the drownings, and increase the intake, making a real difference to both problems, as the Houston panel recommended.

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  21. mark delmege says:

    Continuing on from Jock – if you will excuse the crudity
    ‘It’s about balance, fairness and our future!’
    What this means is
    Fuck all, Fuck you and fuck them.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Mark, you really have a warped view of things, don’t you? 😦

      But you have just summed up the Abbott / Murdoch philosophy to a tee, so thanks for that 😀

      Like

  22. mark delmege says:

    its my early morning sense of humour.

    Like

  23. Jock says:

    Truthie, Don’t know what Mark D was on about but that was not my train of thought. we should do more for the refugees. But we must stop rabbott. The greens seem to have a death wish.
    This will be my last comment for a while. Microsoft has let me down again the laptop is on its last gasp. Keep up the good work and hopefully in the not too distant future I’ll be able to read a backlog of good articles.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Jock, yes I was in a bit of a quandary myself 😯

      Sorry to hear about your computer, 😦 and hope that you can get back on line soon, as I look forward to your early morning comments. 😎

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  24. diannaart says:

    Just a quick note and this may come as a surprise. The Greens are fully aware they will never have to govern – well not in the foreseeable. They will never have to make the compromises of leadership – yep, they know this as well. What they can target is accountability. This tends to reveal itself in words that many do not want to hear. For example, the PNG Plan; this will not reduce the world wide numbers of refugees, is highly debatable as to whether it will ‘stop-the-boats’, is far more costly than onshore assessment and involves placing people (who have already been traumatised) into living conditions that few Australians would want for themselves, in other words detention camps in PNG, Manus Island, Nauru are inhumane – tent cities, a windfall for companies like Toll Holdings and other vested interests. Not a long term solution.

    Describing the Greens as out-of-touch dreamers is convenient and easy. Too easy. But go ahead, use the Greens as a scapegoat – this is one of the lumps that the Greens take on board in order to “keep the bastards honest” – now that the Democrats are a spent force. There have never been any prizes for being messengers, particularly of information that niggles the conscience.

    I am hoping for another hung parliament. I am not alone in this. Julia Gillard managed one of the most productive governments in recent history because she had to work with minorities, be they independents or small parties like the Greens. BTW just a reminder, Labor preferenced Family First over the Greens when convenient, which is why we wound up with the delightful Brian Harradine back in the 00’s.

    Just sayin’.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Diannaart, thanks for your comment 😀

      Sadly knowing that you have no chance of implementing your policies, allows lots of latitude for feel good policies rather than practical ones.

      The real worry is that the LNP have made very little more than motherhood statements, as opposed to real policies, and they ARE the alternate government, but I digress.

      I have heard all the rhetoric about what worked after the Vietnam war, and how Sweden have handled the issue.

      Neither of these points are IMHO valid, as we are living in different times, with a completely different set of AS circumstances, and as far as Sweden is concerned, it is a small country, is not an island and, as a consequence, has different circumstances to deal with.

      WRT PNG, as I said earlier, if it works, and there is good anecdotal evidence to suggest that it will, then people will stop drowning, and any expansion to Nauru and Manus will be purely academic, as it will not be necessary. 😯 As well the ramifications for the greens will be far reaching WRT their credibility.

      I personally have no problems with Hung parliaments, and agree entirely that the Gillard government was a very productive government. 😀

      Just on another issue, what happened to your gravatar, as I rather liked your original one? 😦

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  25. cornlegend says:

    I see the Greens are down in the polls.
    I would expect the Wikileaks Party to take a fair chunk of the Left vote, particularly from the Greens.
    Wikileaks have some high quality candidates

    diannaart
    As a former Greens voter, it give me no real pleasure seeing them head south in the polls.
    Christine Milne and Sarah Hanson Young have done the Greeens no favours
    Bob Brown was dogmatic, but also a realist and had personality. and charisma.
    Something {IMHO] the current crop lack

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Cornie, you beat me to it, as I was about to write a PS to Diannaart saying that I also take no pleasure in seeing the greens vote declining, even though I have predicted it for some time, as I believe that we need more left wing representation in the political discourse. But as I have said before it’s primarily the leadership that I have issues with and the direction that they are taking the party in, rather than the party itself.

      As I said in my reply to you earlier, on the other thread, I rated 75% ALP and 65% Greens, so I actually relate fairly well to a lot of their ideas.

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  26. cornlegend says:

    I rated Greens 77%
    Alp 75%

    The question didn’t bother about whether they were funded policies, aspirational policies or just plain airy fairy
    So, IF EVER they bothered to fund some policies, get some reality, and some decent leaders, I may well again one day vote for them in the Senate.
    Thinking seriously of giving Wikileaks Party a run in the Senate

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, you rabid tree hugger you 😯 2% in it… Mmmmm?

      Mate I thought when filling it out that the questions at times were a bit too general, and may have produced slightly better results, had they been a bit more specific, but you get that! 😀

      BTW, just posted “Cos the treasury hasn’t got Sloppy Joe’s calculator!” 😀

      https://truthseekersmusings.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/cos-treasury-hasnt-got-sloppy-joes-calculator/

      Cheers 😀

      Like

    • bundysmum says:

      Strange aint it? I rated 78% Labor,78% Greens. I did vote for the Greens at the last election, but not this time.The are uncompromising and unrealistic, and to tell the truth SHY really annoys me with her whining tone.

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Bundysmum, thanks for your comment 😀

        My ratings were pretty much what I expected, 😀 but even if they were 95% greens, I would still not vote for them, as I believe that this is not the election to take chances in.

        It’s not SHY’s whining tone that bothers me, it’s just the whining 😯

        Cheers 😀

        Like

  27. cornlegend says:

    Already onto that one mate 😀

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Yes, I saw that, 😆 but I’ve taken to notifying everyone of a new post, and it was just easier to include it in your reply, than to write a new comment just for that 😀

      Cheers mate 😀

      Like

      • cornlegend says:

        Truthy,
        bloody hell, taking the easy way out eh 😀

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Mate,you nailed it again 😀 as I’m trying to write and post comments and draw a design for a leadlight for our en-suite, not to mention about to start work on a song for one of my students. 🙄 and it’s not even a song that I want to learn how to play 😦 but hey you get that 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

  28. diannaart says:

    Truthie

    You stated that you believe the PNG Plan will stop-the-boats. While I sincerely hope you are correct, even though evidence remains sketchy, this support of yours for the Labor refugee policy, begs the question; did you, therefore, agree that the Howard Pacific solution was successful, that it stopped refugees arriving in boats? Not because of a change in the numbers world’s refugees or a brief reduction in blighted countries. But because treating refugees harshly is a deterrent. If this was true, why has Christmas Island failed?

    I am sure you agree that the majority of boat-people do turn out to be genuine asylum seekers, then do you agree that resettlement in PNG is an appropriate treatment for these people? PNG is not the most enlightened place on earth, again this requirement of Rudd’s plan appears more as punishment for refugees and costly for the Australian tax-payer at that.

    My other major concern is due to the paltry attention to Climate Change by Labor. I don’t expect anything much from the Liberals, but had hoped Labor would do more than stop the Carbon Tax and replace it with an ETS. Where are the policies for pro-active methods to transition to renewable fuels? Where is the re-invigoration of the mining super-profits tax to assist paying for the transition? Where is there movement towards phasing out mining when we know we coal, oil and gas are not infinite? Where is protection for arable farming land? The Great Barrier Reef? Incentive for environmentally efficient houses, factories, high-rise?

    Finally, why is Rudd distancing himself from policies developed by Team Gillard by either renaming or ignoring them completely? To gain extra votes? I guess Rudd does not hold voters as critical thinkers, rather disrespectful, I posit.

    As to criticism of the Greens holding to their principles, if they don’t act as some kind of conscience who will? At present Julian Assange’s platform remains a limited one, not unlike the Greens were 20 years ago. I only see pandering to the lowest common denominator from either Labor or Liberal. The more I see these parties disparage the Greens, the more I am inclined to vote lower house for the Greens as well as upper – provided an Independent of the calibre of Windsor or Oakeshotte does not appear in my electorate.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Diannaart, thanks for your comment 😀

      Truth be told I don’t like any of the AS policies, and certainly did not support Howard’s Pacific solution. I also don’t believe that it was successful.
      The truth is that the situation was very different, as if you look at the figures, it was clear that the numbers had dropped dramatically around the world, but it is also true that Howard was planning to increase the capacity of detention centres, after they claim that he “stopped the boats”, indicating that he was expecting more to come.

      Most experts know that you can’t turn the boats around, cos now it’s never safe to do so, and Howard managed to turn only 4 boats around out of 11 attempts, before the crews started disabling the boats, which is what they will do now.
      This makes a sham of Abbott’s policy.

      TPV’s also don’t work as a deterrent, in fact they encourage women and children to get on boats because there is no provision for family reunions for those on TPV’s.

      I do believe that at least some that come by boat are economic refugees, as they obviously have the money to pay the people smugglers, which the vast majority of those languishing in camps around the world don’t.

      Having said that, the reason that I support the PNG solution is the same reason that I supported the Malaysian solution, and that is to stop the drownings, as I don’t believe that there is anything humane about letting people die at sea.

      The reality for me is that if the boats keep coming, the number of souls lost will be many more than the number of asylum seekers that end up in PNG, if that solution works, and the boats stop.

      I also think that at least some of the genuine asylum seekers would be happier settled in PNG and able to start a new life, than being back where they started, or stuck in a camp for years on end with no idea if they will even get the chance at a new life.

      As a firm believer in AGW, I agree that more needs to be done, and should have been started years if not decades ago.

      When I was a kid in London, the Government declared it a “smokeless zone”, and after a few years, there were fish to be caught in the Thames again, and the environment was repairing, so I have seen the benefits of good policy.
      However, because the run has been left very late, we can jump in boots and all, and then suffer the backlash from the electorate whereby they will hand the reigns to some denier like Abbott, or we can tread a bit more carefully, to keep people on side, and get more done over the short to medium term.

      It’s far from ideal, but it is the political reality.

      WRT Rudd changing the names of Gillard policies, sadly that is another political reality, as to have a chance at winning, he feels that he has to distance himself from the image or perception of Gillard in the wider community, as the hatchet job that Abbott and Murdoch did was very effective and he needs some clear air so as to focus on the issues.

      We saw yesterday an example of this with the reports and hysteria over Albo having a beer with Craig Thomson.

      As I said previously, I would not presume to tell anyone who they should or should not vote for, but I don’t think this is the election for taking chances with the future of this country, and our children/ grandchildren.

      Standing on principle is all well and good, but principles won’t pay the bills or feed the family when Abbott sends the country down austerity road. 😦

      Sorry it took me a while to reply, but I have been busy all afternoon 😦

      Cheers 😀

      Like

      • diannaart says:

        Truthie

        Fully appreciate your thoughtful and considered reply. Apologies for my own belated reply – I simply don’t have much energy – this affects me on many levels. Please don’t respond to this comment – I am not seeking sympathy, merely explaining why I am less than prolific on topics I am actually passionate about.

        Am with you that “turning back the boats” is useless, kindergarten thinking (apologies for insulting toddlers). The entire LNP platform is based entirely upon limited imagination and wishful thinking, aimed at the most base of human desires..

        I take your point that PNG may be a place where people can start their lives again. If Labor win we will find out just as we will find out if Rudd’s plan can really “stop the boats”. However, I feel that this may be another case of wishful thinking – although it is a type with which I can understand but it requires balance and this is where the Greens can play a part.

        I also understand the reasoning behind changing the names of Julia Gillard’s policies – sad that such a mountain of mostly good work is being written out of history. We will need reminding and I don’t see either of the major parties desiring such reminders. Again the Greens can act as a type of conscience – which is why the Greens attract so much flack – no one wants to be reminded of bad behaviour.

        I agree with you regarding AGW; the vested interests remain too powerful. Gillard didn’t and Rudd won’t be playing the ‘we must clean up our act’ card (don’t want to frighten the horses now, do we?) – Rudd is determined to win at all costs. Our political system has become one of pragmatism trumping all else – and this is from a person who is described as very pragmatic by those who know me. However, that too often the means justify the outcomes does not mean that political groups such as the Greens should undergo the denigration it receives from both sides. Being a realist, I can recognise bullying when I see it.

        Speaking of which, yes the shit throwing has started again – Rudd’s honeymoon period is over. A notion to consider, will the muckraking reach the same levels as that thrown at Julia Gillard? On that note, I guess we have to wait and see.

        If Labor wins, then we will find out if the PNG plan helps.

        If the LNP wins – doesn’t really warrant thinking about.

        Finally, if the Greens remain a viable presence in the senate, at least there is hope for balance, fairness and our future.

        Like

    • bundysmum says:

      Diaanaart,

      I have the utmost respect for your concerns, but it would appear that the measures taken by Rudd are having an effect.There is no doubt that the boats have slowed and no-one has drowned since Rudd announced the new policy, and if our deepest concerns are for that we should all be cheering.

      I see that as evidence that this policy will have a positive impact on people deciding whether or not to take a possibly fatal journey, and it does point out that not all asylum seekers are genuinely seeking asylum from the worst situations, but are in fact using Australia as a soft option to gain advantage from a boat trip rather than waiting with who knows how many others for an opportunity.

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Bundysmum, thanks for your comment 😎

        Yes the early signs are good, and as I said, if it gets a fair go, we might then be able to concentrate our efforts and our funds to increasing our humanitarian intake 😎 and I for one will be very happy about that 😀

        Cheers 😀

        Like

  29. Pingback: My Homepage

  30. cornlegend says:

    Greens ‘ratted’ on preferences deal

    LABOR has charged the Greens with trying to sabotage its bid for re-election by “ratting” on a national preferences deal.

    Victorian ALP secretary Noah Carroll yesterday excoriated the Greens after the party was exposed distributing how-to-vote cards in crucial seats without directing preferences to Labor.

    Mr Carroll said the cards were being distributed at pre-polling centres in Victoria in direct contravention of the agreement struck between the two parties at the weekend. That agreement aided the Greens in the Senate, likely delivering the minor party the balance of power in the next parliament,
    In exchange for the support in the Senate, the Greens promised to preference Labor in dozens of lower house seats across Australia.

    Mr Carroll said the Greens’ decision to print how-to-vote cards in contravention of the deal could not be forgiven and was evidence the party under Christine Milne could not be trusted.

    The Australian has seen several of the Greens’ how-to-vote cards that failed to preference Labor and obtained one of the cards at an inner-city pre-polling centre.

    http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/election-2013/greens-ratted-on-preferences-deal/story-fn9qr68y-1226700959408

    Like

  31. cornlegend says:

    Just ended my discussion with Doug on IAMN.
    So much for the high moral ground.
    The Greens have looked past the party’s anti-mining stance to go into a preference deal with minerals mogul Clive Palmer in an apparent bid to save the political career of Sarah Hanson-Young.
    In return, the Greens have preferenced the PUP candidate ahead of Labor in South Australia and Tasmania and are expected to do so in Mr Palmer’s home state of Queensland.

    In return, the Greens have preferenced the PUP candidates James McDonald and Peter Collis ahead of Labor and the Liberals

    In Tasmania, the Greens will place the PUP ahead of Labor and the Liberals on how-to-vote cards in the southern seat of Franklin and the two northern seats of Bass and Braddon.

    The deal has led to accusations of hypocrisy on the part of the Greens. One of the party’s major platforms is to reduce the mining of fossil fuels and to block any expansion of coal mining in Queensland that threatens the health of the Great Barrier Reef.

    A Labor source said: “It’s hard to take these claims seriously given the Greens are preferencing Big Coal in South Australia to save Sarah Hanson Young.”

    Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/federal-politics/federal-election-2013/greens-sign-preference-deal-with-clive-palmer-20130819-2s7kz.html#ixzz2cenalCaM

    Like

    • melaine says:

      Hi Cornie… been following your discussion over on AIMN… go Cornie!!! Both you and Kaye Lee are spot on.

      Very sad to see what the Greens have become. Have a real sense of deja vue. Shame really as they were once seen as providing balance now all they seem to do is cause division and disruption.

      Got to get back to yelling at the TV… almost as much fun as winding up cold callers on the landline phone…

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Mel give the TV a few expletives for me, I’ve been out all morning and am going out again shortly so I can’t do my own yelling until much later 😀

        Cheers ;grin:

        Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, mate as I said he comes across as reasonable, but when all is said and done, he’s a knob 😯

      supporting a party of knobs 😦

      Saw the wikki leaks candidate that quit, this morning on ABC 24 they really have shot themselves in both feet 😯

      Cheers 😀

      Like

    • bundysmum says:

      Just took a look at the conversation you have had at aimn. This doug fella is pretty pompous and he refuses to allow anyone to differ from his take on the world. Bit of a git really, especially given the dirty coal deal done by the greens. They really are a bunch of hypocrites.

      Keep it up Cornie, we are behind you 100%.

      Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, thanks for the update mate, just read it and although he’s let Hockey off the hook, he’s certainly put the boot into Malcontent BRough 😀 and it couldn’t have happened to a more deserving bastard. 😯

      Cheers mate 😀

      Like

    • bundysmum says:

      I just read a similar article on the Guardian site. But it seems clive has only fessed up to get hockey off the hook. When is abort going to sack brough, or is it only the Labor Party that is required to exhibit integrity?

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Bunysmum, yes you wouldn’t hold your breath waiting for Abbott to do the right thing 😯

        Let’s hope Brough gets just what he deserves 😀

        Cheers ;grin:

        Like

  32. cornlegend says:

    Bundy, did you get my message,
    grandad has launched in to you {and me} mirrabella IA

    As for Doug,
    Like Truthy,
    I give up 😀

    Like

  33. bundysmum says:

    I did, thank you Cornie. grandad is a silly old git and I fear he is giving all us grandies a bad name.I love the comment left for you by Truthy, it really made me laugh.

    And Truthy, be carefull or the silly old goat will be after you next.

    Like

  34. cornlegend says:

    Geez, Truthy,
    I do seem to be shaking a few trees.
    Maybe “she” is right and I should keep my big mouth shut.
    but it’s fun 😀

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, you go for it mate, you’ve gotta have some fun sometimes 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

    • melaine says:

      They are trees that need shaking Cornie. Amazing how they turn up when Kevvy is starting to show some gumption and running rings around big ears?

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        Mel The only trouble with shaking trees is that if you shake the ugly tree too hard Mirabella herself might fall out 😯

        Cheers 😀

        Like

        • melaine says:

          Bugger shaking the tree, hand me the f’ing chainsaw I’ve got a real quick way to get her out of the tree!!! She has spent way toooo much time hanging round my suburb for my liking over the last few years… stirring up crap with local manufacturing industries and generally spouting uninformed crap, a truly nasty piece of work, don’t even get me started on her behaviour in the House!!!!!!!!! Being stuck at home over the last 18mths I have had plenty of time to watch the activities in Parliament house… plus she gives us Greeks a very bad name!!!!

          Like

  35. cornlegend says:

    Thanks, you two, I’ll grin and bear it 😀

    Like

Leave a Comment or Reply

