They’re off and running.

They’re off and running.

684857-130617-kevinrudd

images

I thought it would be a good idea to start the campaign off with a touch of satirical poetry, to get us in the mood, for the fight ahead.   😀

So here’s my take on “The Aussie Stakes”   😀

They’re off and running

 

The Aussie stakes are right to run

The gates have all been set

There’s Rudd revenge and RAbbotts Run

And The Poodle, Tony’s pet

There’s Mirrabella’s folly

And Bishops Deathly Stare

And the nag, back from the knackers yard

Bronwyn’s Bloody Hair

🙄

There’s Shortens Bold Endeavour

And Penny’s Never Wong

There’s Albos Guts and Hockey’s nuts

In a field that’s looking strong

There’s Bowen’s Books and Turnbull’s Copper

And Burke of PNG

There’s Hunt the Runt and Abetz’s punt

And Tanya’s Family Tree

😀

There’s Milne’s Outrage and Dash for Cash

And S.H.Y’s Naïve

With Macklin’s Roar and Brandis’s Flaw

And Barnaby’s Reprieve

There’s Morrison’s Sad  Solution

And Warrens Broken Truss

And the callers have all been shipped in

On Murdoch’s News Corp Bus.

😯

So the starters gun is fired

And Away is RAbbott’s Run

With Rudd’s Revenge in hot pursuit

Like a shot out of a gun

But before they’d made the first bend

Murdoch’s callers made the call

The race was all but over

Cos they wanted Rudd to fall

😦

But the nerdy nag kept running

With the RAbbott neck and neck

Till they reached the economy hurdle

Where the RAbbott hit the deck

Hockeys Nuts, he also stumbled

While Bowen’s Books ran straight on past

And the Knackery nag Bronwyn’s Bloody Hair

Ran stone cold, motherless last

😀

Barnaby’s Reprieve, ran through the jump

And The Poodle was really pumping

But Mirrabella’s Foley, cleared it clean

Cos she’s had lots of practice, jumping

While Shortens Bold Endeavour

Quickly put on quite a show

Bishop’s Deathly Stare, was barely there

And Turnbulls Copper, proved quite slow

😯

Now RAbbott’s Run thought his race was done

As he languished on the ground

But with Hockey’s Nuts supporting him

Murdoch’s callers rallied around

They picked them up and carried them

Trying hard to get in front

While the AGW hurdle

Quickly tripped up  Hunt the Runt

😉

With the runners spread across the field

And the finish line in sight

The Murdoch’s callers were the ones

Who were keeping up the fight

As they carried Hockey and RAbbott’s Run

To get them over the line

While the stewards looked the other way

Saying everything is fine

😯

But even for the Murdoch crew

RAbbott’s run was a heavy load

And as they neared the finish they were tripped

By Campbell the Cane Toad

And the Nerdy nag from Brissy

Crossed the finish line in style

While Murdoch’s mob lost anyway

Bogged down… in their own… bile

😀

Rupert Murdoch - Caricature

Rupert Murdoch – Caricature (Photo credit: DonkeyHotey)

About Truth Seeker

Musician singer/songwriter, guitar teacher. https://truthseekersmusings.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Political Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to They’re off and running.

  1. cornlegend says:

    Good one mate.
    Gonna need all the battle cries we can muster.
    Murdochs crowd have come out, all guns blazing on day 1. {scumbags}
    Even rigged polls, trying to show Abbott in a good light, as Mr Popular
    Reachtel poll
    Abbott 51%
    Rudd 49%
    In all the polls this year ,Abbott has been around 30%., now according to them, Mr Wonderful is adored by the masses.
    This little scumbag, bottom feeder is about as popular as constipation.
    Keep up the good fight Truthy, you inspire all of us

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      cornie, thanks mate 😀

      I only started this last night, and finished it this morning, just to get the ball rolling 😀

      Yes the Courier Mail started on Saturday, and the Telegraph picked it up today, nailing Abbott’s colours to their mast heads.

      Murdoch trying to hand us the government that he wants… WTF 😯

      Time he was told to GO BACK HOME TO THE USofA, AND GET YOUR DITY NOSE OUT OF OUR COUNTRY AND OUR FUTURE.

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  2. bundysmum says:

    Brilliant and inspirational call to arms Truthie.
    This is a war that will have to be fought on many fronts, not the least the mongrels at limited news.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Bundysmum, thanks for that 😎 I believe in the old adage of start as you mean to carry on 😀

      Yes we should start a campaign of “Stop the Murdoch!” 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  3. Sandra says:

    What’s needed is some bill boards that tell the truth, seems it would be the only way the regular punters would ever get to see it. So the Newspoll this morning says that TA is preferred leader. As I have said many times before, the questions asked will always give a skewed viewpoint and its about time people realized that and stopped taking notice of them. Polls are part of the manipulation that used to control the masses.
    Truthie, I would love to be able to write pomes like you do, this one gave me a good belly laugh to start my week off. All we have to do now is to sort through & survive the rubbish that will be thrown at us till election day.
    All I have to do also now is hope I will be home from hospital after hip surgery in time to enjoy putting my vote in (not sure how I’ll get there but I wouldn’t miss this for the world).
    Keep ’em coming Truthie.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Sandra, thanks for your comment 😎 and Kind words 😀

      I have had the same thought many times about billboards, and if I had the money I would sponsor a few myself 😀

      As far as this latest News poll, and the preferred PM stakes, it’s easy to get that result… just ring people in Abbott’s electorate 😯

      I’m glad that you got a laugh out of my poem, 😀 and I would encourage you to give it a try, as it’s a lot of fun, and a great mind exercise. 😉

      I’m very sorry to hear about your impending hip surgery, and I sincerely hope that it all goes well for you, but maybe you could use some of the recovery time to try your hand at writing some poetry? I would love to see some from you 😎

      Please keep us updated as to your op and recovery, and we will be thinking of you, and wishing you well. 🙂

      Cheers 😀

      Like

      • Truth Seeker says:

        BTW, I think they do have voting options for those in hospital 😀

        Cheers 😀

        Like

      • Sandra says:

        Thanks for the good wishes Truthie & don’t be sorry to hear about the op. I’ve only been awaiting this for over 3 years. Now is yeah, bring it on. Will be able to drive again in about 3 months time. Woohooo!

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Sandra, that’s good news then, and they have really improved their procedures, which has in turn improved recovery times, so we will be thinking of you on the 22nd, and after for your recovery 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

        • cornlegend says:

          good luck Sandra.
          hope all goes well
          operation wise as well as election
          only another week or so and I can drive again, so understand you cheerfulness

          Like

  4. bundysmum says:

    http://www.abc.net.au/votecompass/

    Truthie some of your followers might be interested in this survey,I’m sure it is bein conducted with far more rigour than the very limited newspoll

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Bundysmum, thanks for the link, 😀 I was going to look for it myself later, so you’ve saved me some time, as well as providing the link for other readers 😎

      I’ll let you know when I’ve filled it out 😀

      Cheers ;grin:

      Like

      • jane says:

        Love the poem, Truthie. Excellent as usual.

        Did the survey, but stuffed up a couple of answers.

        Like

        • Truth Seeker says:

          Hi Jane 😀 Thanks for your comment and kind words 😎

          Yes I did the survey this afternoon, took my time, and ended up 75% ALP 😯

          But then spent a fair amount of the day yelling expletives at the TV over the lies and misinformation from Abbott, Turnbull and Hockey, with only a touch of light relief as I watched the ABC and then TEN show the quality LNP candidate stuffing up over the AS and the PPL “Policies?” 😆 Posted below by cornlegend 😀

          Abbott later consoled the candidate with “Don’t worry, it happens to all of us from time to time!” 😯 Now that’s got to be the understatement of the campaign. 😀

          Cheers 😀

          Like

  5. bilko says:

    Truthy ah yuve done it again nice one.

    Plus a newspoll held in abborts electorate, where else would Abbort get that sort of approval figure.

    Expect more of this from murdoch’s media, his foxtel profits must be in the super super tax bracket, even without my contribution as I cancelled my account last month.

    And to think he could have made lots more if the NBN goes in, cost of satellite dishes gone and they are not cheap, line costs someone else problem, sure he would had competition and needed to lift his game but that is not his style total monopoly or nothing.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Bilko, thanks for your comment 😎 and kind words 😀 I appreciate it.

      Yes I think that Murdoch will certainly ramp up his efforts over the coming weeks, cos he has thrown all his eggs into Abbott’s basket, and he is now stuck with a real basket case 😀

      And you are right, it’s not about competition, it’s about total control. 😯

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  6. brckbob says:

    Exellent prose,Henry Lawson would be proud. I was going to say I cant believe the depths that scumbag Murdoch has sunk to,but of course we can believe it,and that asshole formerly known as Paul Kelly from Murdochs putrid propaganda sewer is a piece of work to be sure as well as Denis fucking Shanahan and I don’t normally swear on a public site but this mob make my blood boil and if I had the chance I would grab a rolled up copy of the Daily Telegraph and Tonys little blue book of bullshit and shove it up Murdochs arse and set fire to it,and I am not a violent person.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Brickbob, thanks for your comment 😆 and kind words 😎

      I fully understand your anger and frustration, as I used similar expletives when I saw the front page of the Courier Mail on Saturday. 😀

      I also agree with the idea of the Telegraph and Abbott’s comic book, although I would probably add a nice big fireworks rocket to the mix for a more enjoyable spectacle. 😯

      And I’m not usually a violent person either. 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

    • jane says:

      brckbob, hardly violent, just an appropriate punishment for a sordid, lying corrupt disgusting wizened old psychopath.

      Like

  7. cornlegend says:

    Truthy,
    can you delete my stuff up 😀

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      Mate, anything for you 😀

      That’s a good example of the quality candidates that the LNP have 😯

      But then Abbott is shit scared of debating the issues, and he’s the leader (?) of the party.
      😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

  8. cornlegend says:

    Truthy,
    Had a few spare minutes, so I went and did the ABC votecompass at the link bundysmum provided above.
    I tired to answer it truthfully, rate my self fairly, and the end result came as a bit of a surprise.
    I am rated , {or fit the category} of………….
    If you get a chance, go try it,
    I’d be interested in what you come up as, before I tell you mine 😀

    Like

  9. susanai says:

    Love your ‘musings’, they’re spot on. Rudd’s a good egg and A’s an Ass with his nose up Rupert’s A. God help us all if they get in.

    Like

    • Truth Seeker says:

      susanai, Thanks for your kind words and support 😀

      Yes, I have just used the expression God forbid in the same context, in the post I am currently writing about the first few days of the election campaign. 😀 and Murdoch and Abbot have leading roles. 😯

      I hope to have it up later today or tomorrow, depending on how well it comes together. 😉

      I also hope to start another poem over the next few days, time and inspiration permitting 😀

      Cheers 😀

      Like

Leave a Comment or Reply

